HomeAboutContact usSite mapSearch
Laboratoire
Laboratory

Spectroscopic (RAIRS/XPS/TPD) system:

The system is equipped the following technics:

Reflexion-Absorption Infrared Spectroscopy (RAIRS): Allows analyzing the vibrations on the surface to determine the adsorption geometries of studied substrates. As by the selection rule, the vibrations which are parallel to the surface become invisible.

X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS): Allows a quantitative analysis of chemical elements in the first three layers of the sample surface.

Thermal Desorption Spectroscopy (TDS): Allows an analysis of fragments ejected from the surface during sample heating to follow the reactivity at the surface as a function of the temperature and / or to reconstitute the manner of a puzzle species to the surface.

STM/HREELS system:

High Resolution Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy (HREELS): Allows an analysis of the vibrations on the surface to determine the different adsorption geometry of the studied substrates. Unlike RAIRS, this technique analyzes the dipoles parallel to the surface as well as low frequency vibration of bonds with the atoms of the surface.

Scanning Tunneling Microscope (STM): Produces the image of the substrate on an electrically conductive surface or only the surface with an intermolecular, even atomic resolution. Each pixel in the image is the average of a certain number of measurements of the height adjusted to maintain a constant current between the tip and the surface. The image shows a direct ‘‘view’’ of electronic cloud of atoms to determine the cleanliness of the surface, to estimate the coverage, to analyze the molecular interaction and to follow their movement.

STM system:

Scanning Tunneling Microscope (STM): Produces the image of the substrate on an electrically conductive surface or only the surface with an intermolecular, even atomic resolution. Each pixel in the image is the average of a certain number of measurements of the height adjusted to maintain a constant current between the tip and the surface. The image shows a direct ‘‘view’’ of electronic cloud of atoms to determine the cleanliness of the surface, to estimate the coverage, to analyze the molecular interaction and to follow their movement.

 

 

Chemistry Department - Peter McBreen's Laboratory - Surface Chemistry
1459, Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon - Québec (Québec) Canada G1K 7P4
Telephone : 418 656-3282 Fax : 418 656-7916 Email : peter.mcbreen@chm.ulaval.ca
Ce site utilise TYPO3 Ralisation: quipe Tactic

AccueilÀ proposNous joindrePlan du siteChercher
Laboratory
Laboratoire

Système RAIRS/XPS/TPD :

Système multianalytique équipé des techniques suivantes :

RAIRS (Réflexion-Absorption Spectroscopie Infrarouge) : Permet d'analyser les vibrations à la surface pour déterminer les différentes géométries d'adsorption des substrats étudiés. Car par la règle de sélection, les vibrations qui sont parallèles à la surface deviendront invisibles.

XPS (Spectrométrie photoélectronique induits par rayons X) : Permet une analyse quantitative des éléments chimiques dans les premiers trois couches de la surface d’échantillon.

TDS (Spectroscopie de Désorption thermique) : Permet une analyse des fragments éjectés de la surface lors d'un chauffage de l'échantillon pour suivre la réactivité à la surface en fonction de la température et/ou pour reconstituer à la manière d'un puzzle les espèces à la surface.

Système STM/HREELS:

HREELS (High Resolution Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy) : Permet d'analyser les vibrations à la surface pour déterminer les différentes géométries d'adsorption des substrats étudiés. Contrairement au RAIRS, cette technique permet d'analyser les dipôles parallèles à la surface ainsi que les vibrations de basses fréquences des liaisons avec les atomes de la surface.

STM (Microscope à effet tunnel): Permet de produire l’image du substrat sur une surface conducteur d’électricité ou la surface seule avec une résolution intramoléculaire, et même atomique. Chaque pixel dans l’image montre un moyen des certains nombres de mesure qui est la hauteur ajusté pour maintenir un courant constant entre la pointe balayant et la surface. L’image montrent une <<vue>> direct des nuages électronique des atomes pour déterminer la propreté de la surface, estimer le recouvrement, analyser l’interaction moléculaire et suivre leurs mouvement.

Système STM:

STM (Microscope à effet tunnel): Permet de produire l’image du substrat sur une surface conducteur d’électricité ou la surface seule avec une résolution intramoléculaire, et même atomique. Chaque pixel dans l’image montre un moyen des certains nombres de mesure qui est la hauteur ajusté pour maintenir un courant constant entre la pointe balayant et la surface. L’image montrent une <<vue>> direct des nuages électronique des atomes pour déterminer la propreté de la surface, estimer le recouvrement, analyser l’interaction moléculaire et suivre leurs mouvement.

Département de chimie - Laboratoire Peter McBreen - Chimie des surfaces
1459, Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon - Québec (Québec) Canada G1K 7P4
Téléphone : 418 656-3282 Télécopieur : 418 656-7916 Courriel : peter.mcbreen@chm.ulaval.ca
Ce site utilise TYPO3 Ralisation: quipe Tactic